The Edgar Award for Best Novel

Flags on the Bayou, by James Lee Burke (2024) *Notes On an Execution*, by Danya Kukafka (2023) *Five Decembers*, by James Kestrel (2022) *Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line*, by Deepa Anappara (2021) The Stranger Diaries, by Elly Griffiths (2020) *Down the River Unto the Sea*, by Walter Mosley (2019) Bluebird, Bluebird, by Attica Locke (2018) Before the Fall, by Noah Hawley (2017) Let Me Die in His Footsteps, by Lori Roy (2016) Mr. Mercedes, by Stephen King (2015) Ordinary Grace, by William Kent Krueger (2014) *Live By Night*, by Dennis Lehane (2013) Gone, by Mo Hayder (2012) The Lock Artist, by Steve Hamilton (2011) The Last Child, by John Hart (2010) *Blue Heaven*, by C.J. Box (2009) Down River, by John Hart (2008) The Janissary Tree, by Jason Goodwin (2007) *Citizen Vince*, by Jess Walter (2006) California Girl, by T. Jefferson Parker (2005) *Resurrection Men*, by Ian Rankin (2004) Winter and Night, by S.J. Rozan (2003) Silent Joe, by T. Jefferson Parker (2002) The Bottoms, by Joe R. Lansdale (2001)

Bones, by Jan Burke (2000)

Mr. White's Confession, by Robert Clark (1999) *Cimarron Rose*, by James Lee Burke (1998) The Chatham School Affair, by Thomas H. Cook (1997) *Come To Grief*, by Dick Francis (1996) The Red Scream, by Mary Willis Walker (1995) *The Sculptress*, by Minette Walters (1994) *Bootlegger's Daughter*, by Margaret Maron (1993) A Dance at the Slaughterhouse, by Lawrence Block (1992) *New Orleans Mourning*, by Julie Smith (1991) *Black Cherry Blues*, by James Lee Burke (1990) A Cold Red Sunrise, by Stuart M. Kaminsky (1989) *Old Bones*, by Aaron Elkins (1988) A Dark-Adapted Eye, by Barbara Vine (1987) The Suspect, by L.R. Wright (1986) Briarpatch, by Ross Thomas (1985) La Brava, by Elmore Leonard (1984) *Billingsgate Shoal*, by Rick Boyer (1983) *Peregrine*, by William Bayer (1982) Whip Hand, by Dick Francis (1981) The Rheingold Route, by Arthur Maling (1980) *Eve of the Needle*, by Ken Follett (1979) Catch Me: Kill Me, by William H. Hallahan (1978) *Promised Land*, by Robert B. Parker (1977) *Hopscotch*, by Brian Garfield (1976) *Peter's Pence*, by Jon Cleary (1975)

Dance Hall of the Dead, by Tony Hillerman (1974) The Lingala Code, by Warren Kiefer (1973) The Day of the Jackal, by Frederick Forsyth (1972) The Laughing Policeman, by Maj Sjöwall & Per Wahlöö (1971) *Forfeit*, by Dick Francis (1970) A Case of Need, by Michael Crichton (1969) God Save the Mark, by Donald E. Westlake (1968) *King of the Rainy Country*, by Nicolas Freeling (1967) The Quiller Memorandum, by Adam Hall (1966) The Spy Who Came in from the Cold, by John le Carré (1965) The Light of Day, by Eric Ambler (1964) Death and the Joyful Woman, by Ellis Peters (1963) Gideon's Fire, by J.J. Marric (1962) The Progress of a Crime, by Julian Symons (1961) The Hours Before Dawn, by Celia Fremlin (1960) The Eighth Circle, by Stanley Ellin (1959) *Room to Swing*, by Ed Lacy (1958) A Dram of Poison, by Charlotte Armstrong (1957) Beast in View, by Margaret Millar (1956) *The Long Goodbye*, by Raymond Chandler (1955) *Beat Not the Bones*, by Charlotte Jay (1954)