Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees Eastern Monroe Public Library

The regular scheduled monthly meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Eastern Monroe Public Library was held on Jan.19, 2018 at the Hughes Library.

Present: Charles Green, Ann Super, William Weitzmann, Katherine Neville, Janis Selving, Maria Candelaria, G. Geiger,

Staff in attendance: Sue Lyons, Mary Erm, Rosanne Hewitt

Guests - none

The meeting was called to order at 8:38 AM by President, A. G. Geiger.

<u>G. Geiger/ K. Neville moved to accept the minutes of the Dec. 19 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.</u>

Public Comment - none

President's Report – none

Discussion on Election – Qualifications of various candidates were compared and voted on at a later time.

Director's Report – Director reported on MLK celebration being well attended and quite successful along with a report on the GED program with 20 students enrolled. Also noted was the continued support of Northampton Community College and the willingness of the Associated Libraries to host. PTL was given a large meeting room to hold programming in on Thursdays. There was discussion of the possibility of moving with Pocono Township to a new location in 2019.

Treasurer's Report – The Board Treasurer, W. Weitzmann, reviewed the report which had been emailed to Trustees previous to the meeting.

Comments:

A.Super /K. Neville accepted the Treasurer's Report.

C.Green/K. Neville moved to approve the bills as presented and carried. The motion was carried unanimously.

Introduction of New Administrative Manager, Rosanne Hewitt.

Committee Reports:

Buildings and Equipment – No Report.

Publicity & Community Relations - None to report

Policy and Operations – None to report

Nominating Committee - G. Geiger asked for a motion to elect officers. J. Selving motioned for Ann Super as President, motion seconded by K. Neville. The motion passed unanimously. Motion for M. Candelaria for Vice President by J. Selving, seconded by K. Neville. The motion passed unanimously. S. McGraw and W. Weitzmann agreed to continue as Board Secretary and Board Treasurer. Board discussed and voted on new board member candidates with the majority of votes for Sharon Laverdure.

Discussion on forming a Fund Raising Committee.

Y.S. Report acknowledged.

C. Green/M. Candelaria moved to go into executive session to discuss personnel/litigation. The motion passed unanimously. The executive session began at and ended at 10:00 AM on a motion by C. Green/W. Weitzmann.

The meeting adjourned at 10:02 AM on a motion by C. Green/W. Weitzmann and was carried unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Rosanne Hewitt Administrative Manager