## Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees Eastern Monroe Public Library

The regular scheduled monthly meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Eastern Monroe Public Library was held on Jan.15 2019 at the Hughes Library.

**Present:** Charles Green, Jan. Selving, Tim Hegarty, Ann Super, Seamus McGraw.

Absent: Sharon Laverdure, Maria Candalaria, Katherine Neville, Dawn Migliacci

**Staff in attendance:** Sue Lyons, Rose Hewitt, Mary Erm

Guests: William Weitzmann, outgoing treasurer. Mike Heitman of the EMPL Foundation

**Public Comment:** None

The meeting was called to order at 8:35 A.M. by Board President, A. Super.

## T. Hegery/ C. Green moved to accept the minutes of the Dec. 18, 2018 meeting. The measure passed unanimously

J. Selving./C Green moved to nominate each of the board officers for another term, and to replace outgoing treasurer W. Weitzmann with T. Hegarty. The motion passed unanimously. The officers are President A. Super, Vice President M. Candalaria, Treasurer T. Hegarty, and Secretary S. McGraw.

Foundation Member M. Heitman, sketched out a few suggestions for organization of fundraising activities going forward, applicable among other things to the task of raising some \$300,000 for construction with Middle Smithfield of the new Smithfield's Branch.

**Presidents Report:** There was no president's report. On A. Super's direction, however, the board developed a list of committee assignments. The List is as follows:

Personnel: C. Green, chairman; M. Candalaria, K. Neville

Finance: T. Hegarty, chairman, S. Laverdure, D. Migliacci

Policy and Operation: J. Selving, chairman; M. Candalaria, S. McGraw

Property and Buiding, K. Neville, chairman; J. Selving, T. Hegarty

Publicity: S. McGraw, chairman; D. Migliacci, S. Laverdure

The makeup of the Smithfields Committee and the Pocono Township committee remain unchanged.

In addition the board of trustees has determined a need for a standing fundraising committee. The committee will include D. Migliacci and C. Green. The board also determined that now that the new Bookmobile is in operation, the Bookmobile Committee should be disbanded.

**Treasurer's Report** – After acknowledging W. Weitzmann's years of service to the trustees as a treasurer with a plaque and a hearty thank you, as a parting gift, W. Weitzmann presented all members with a copy of his 2014 report, "Investment Policy Statement for Monroe County Public Library." Newly installed Treasurer T. Hegarty did a quick review of the treasurers reported which had been circulated among the trustees before the meeting.

S. McGraw/J. Selving moved to approve the bills as presented and carried. The motion was carried unanimously.

## **Committee Reports:**

**Buildings and Equipment** None.

<u>Publicity & Community Relations</u> – No report. S. Lyons noted that the new bookmobile has gotten fairly extensive coverage from WNEP, Channel 13, and PBS 39.

Policy and Operation – No report.

Personnel

Strategic Planning -No report

## **Ad Hoc Committees:**

Bookmobile - No report

PTL – No report.

Fundraising – No report.

**Director's Report** – A full copy had been distributed by email previous to the meeting.

**Youth Report** – A full copy had been distributed by email previous to the meeting.

**Old Business** – None

New Business - None.

The meeting adjourned at 9:45 A.M. on a motion by S. McGraw/J. Selving and was carried unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Seamus McGraw Board Secretary