Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees Eastern Monroe Public Library

The regular scheduled monthly meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Eastern Monroe Public Library was held on May 16, 2017 at the Hughes Library.

Present: Gerard Geiger, Charles Green, Katherine Neville, Seamus McGraw, Tim Hegarty, William Weitzmann, Maria Candelaria.

Absent: Janis Selving, Ann Super

Staff in attendance: Sue Lyons, Korey Rustici, Mary Erm

Guests:

The meeting was called to order at 8:32 AM by Board President, G Geiger.

T. Hegarty/S. McGraw moved to accepted the minutes of the April 18, 2017 meeting, as presented.

President's Report –Stroud Twp. agreed to waive fees on the renovation of the Hughes building, and the building inspector reduced fees, cutting "\$5,200 off the \$8,672" the board had anticipated.

Middle Smithfield Councilman Mike Dwyer informed G. Geiger that bids for the architectural design for the proposed joint facility came in \$200,000 above expectations. A second bid for \$77,000 was later obtained from a Bethlehem firm. Further discussion of the project is anticipated.

Comments:

Treasurer's Report – The Board Treasurer, W. Weitzmann, reviewed the report which had been emailed to Trustees previous to the meeting.

Comments:

W. Weitzmann/K. Neville moved to approve the bills as presented and carried. The motion was carried unanimously.

Committee Reports:

Buildings and Equipment – **None to report**

<u>Publicity & Community Relations</u> – **None to report**

<u>Policy and Operations</u> – **None to report**

<u>Personnel</u> – **None to report**

Strategic Planning -None to report

Director's Report – A full copy had been distributed by email previous to the meeting.

Comments:

Youth Report – A full copy had been distributed by email previous to the meeting.

Comments:

Old Business – <u>W. Weitzmann/C. Green moved to elect/appoint S. McGraw to serve</u> on the foundation.

The motion was carried unanimously.

New Business – None to report

The meeting adjourned at 9:03 AM on a motion by T. Hegarty/K. Neville and was carried unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Seamus McGraw Secretary