## Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees Eastern Monroe Public Library

The regular scheduled monthly meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Eastern Monroe Public Library was held on Jan. 21, 2020 at the Hughes Library.

Present: Ann Super, Dawn Migliacci, Katherine Neville, Maria Candalaria, Tim Hegarty, Seamus McGraw

Absent: Jan Selving,

Staff in attendance: Sue Lyons, Rose Hewitt, Mary Erm

Public Comment: None

The meeting was called to order at 8:38 A.M. by Board President Ann Super.

## T. Hegarty/ K. Neville moved to accept the minutes of the Dec. 18, 2019 meeting.

Presidents Report: - A. Super reminded the board that it was required to appoint officers for 2020.

K. Neville/D. Migliacci moved to reappoint the existing slate of officers, A. Super, president, M. Candalaria, Vice President, S. McGraw, secretary, and T. Hegarty, Treasurer. The motion passed unanimously.

The board also considered five candidates for two at large seats on the board trustees vacated by Charles Green and Sharon Laverdure. Both positions are for the final year of the former trustees unfinished terms. The candidates included Murtaza Vahanvaty, Deb Kulik, Betsy Buzzelli-Clarke, Elizabeth Koster and Trudy Lear. The board voted to recommend to the Monroe County Commissioners that D. Kulik (6 votes) and E. Koster (6 votes) be nominated to fill the positions.

Treasurer's Report –Copies of the treasurers report were circulated before the meeting

## T. Hegarty/ K. Neville/D. Migliacci moved to approve the bills as presented and the measure passed <u>unanimously.</u>

Smithfields:

**Committee Reports:** 

Buildings and Equipment – Curbing work has been completed at the Hughes Library.

Fundraising: The trustees are reminded that they should discuss price targets for naming rights for the Smithfield's branch and units within it.

Publicity & Community Relations – None.

Ad Hoc

**Director's Report** – *A full copy had been distributed by email previous to the meeting.* 

**Youth Report:** A full copy of the report was distributed by email previous to the meeting.

Old Business – None

New Business -- None.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:44 am on a motion by D. Migliacci/T. Hegarty. Motion passed.

**Respectfully Submitted,** 

Seamus McGraw

Secretary