World War II

GENERAL
Internet Public Library pathfinder www.ipl.org/div/pf/entry/48549
World War 2 www.world-war-2.info -- includes countries, battles, weapons, statistics, & more
The History Channel www.history.com/topics/world-war-ii
BBC World Wars in Depth www.bbc.co.uk/history/worldwars
BBC summary outline of key events www.bbc.co.uk/history/worldwars/wwtwo/ww2_summary_01.shtml
Infoplease WWII Timeline www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0001288.html
National WWII Memorial www.wwiimemorial.com – in Washington, D.C.
Eyewitness to History www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/w2frm.htm -- “history through the eyes of those who lived it.”
U.S. National Archives WWII photos http://www.archives.gov/research/military/ww2/photos/
Best History Sites WWII www.besthistorysites.net/index.php/ww2 -- includes additional websites, lesson plans, and activities

D-DAY
U.S. Army D-Day www.army.mil/d-day
D-Day American Experience www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/dday
National D-Day Memorial Foundation www.dday.org

NAZIS/HOLOCAUST/CONCENTRATION CAMPS
Totalitarianism, NAZI Germany www.funfront.net/hist/total/n-german.htm
Timeline of NAZI abuses www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/holocaust/timeprint.html
History of the swastika http://history1900s.about.com/cs/swastika/a/swastikahistory.htm
U.S. Holocaust Museum www.ushmm.org
PBS Auschwitz: Inside the NAZI State www.pbs.org/auschwitz
Memorial and Museum, Auschwitz-Birkenau http://en.auschwitz.org.pl/m
Anne Frank www.annefrank.org
Remember.org www.remember.org
Concentration/Death Camp map http://history1900s.about.com/library/holocaust/blmap.htm
About.com Guide http://history1900s.about.com/od/holocaust/tp/holocaust.htm

PEARL HARBOR
Naval History & Heritage Command www.history.navy.mil/photos/events/wwii-pac/pearlhbr/pearlhbr.htm
National Park Service www.nps.gov/valr -- WWII Valor in the Pacific
USS Arizona www.hnsa.org/ships/arizona.htm

WEAPONS/ATOMIC BOMB
Military Factory www.militaryfactory.com/worldwar2/weapons.asp -- large list of WWII aircraft, small arms, artillery, ships, vehicles, organized by country
History of A-Bomb and Manhattan Project http://inventors.about.com/od/astartinventions/a/atomic_bomb.htm
Harry S. Truman Library & Museum , The Decision to Drop the Bomb
www.trumanlibrary.org/whistlestop/study_collections/bomb/large/index.php
Atomic Heritage Foundation www.atomicheritage.org
Hiroshima Peace Site www.pcf.city.hiroshima.jp/index_e2.html
World Nuclear Association www.world-nuclear.org/info/inf52.html

WORLD LEADERS
Franklin D. Roosevelt, Whitehouse.gov www.whitehouse.gov/about/presidents/franklindroosevelt
Franklin D. Roosevelt, PBS www.pbs.org/wgbh/americanexperience/features/biography/presidents-fdroosevelt/
Adolf Hitler, Biography www.biography.com/articles/Adolf-Hitler-9340144
Adolf Hitler www.adolfhitler.dk
Winston Churchill www.winstonchurchill.org
Winston Churchill, PBS www.pbs.org/churchill
Joseph Stalin www.bbc.co.uk/history/historic_figures/stalin_joseph.shtml
Joseph Stalin www.biography.com/articles/Joseph-Stalin-9491723
Benito Mussolini www.notablebiographies.com/Mo-Ni/Mussolini-Benito.html
Benito Mussolini www.bbc.co.uk/history/historic_figures/mussolini_benito.shtml
Chiang Kai-Shek www.bbc.co.uk/history/historic_figures/chiang_kaishek.shtml
Hideki Tojo www.infoplease.com/ce6/people/A0848958.html

last updated February 10, 2014